2/13/1987 – Johnson State College

 On a frosty winter night at Johnson State College in Vermont, Phish embarked on a musical escapade that would resonate through the ages. The echoes of February 13, 1987, became a testament to the band’s burgeoning creativity and their knack for crafting immersive, genre-defying performances.

The first set kicked off with the infectious rhythm of “Sneakin’ Sally Through the Alley,” setting the tone for an evening of dynamic exploration. “Possum” and “Golgi Apparatus > Slave to the Traffic Light -> Quinn the Eskimo (The Mighty Quinn)” showcased Phish’s ability to seamlessly blend classics with their own unique twist.

The absence of vocals in “Slave to the Traffic Light” and the return to “Alumni Blues” after “Letter to Jimmy Page” added an experimental touch to the set, emphasizing the band’s willingness to push the boundaries of live performance.

A highlight of the evening was the debut of “Suzy Greenberg,” featuring the first-known version with the Dude of Life on vocals. The infectious energy of “Sanity” and the debut of “Good Times Bad Times” further solidified the first set as a tapestry of musical diversity.

The second set opened with the iconic “Wilson,” unleashing a cascade of intricate instrumentals. The debut of “Melt the Guns -> Dave’s Energy Guide” showcased Phish’s improvisational prowess, leading into the multifaceted “Fluffhead” with vocals by the Dude of Life.

The transcendental journey continued with “Harry Hood,” where the Dude of Life’s vocals added an extra layer of enchantment to the intricate composition.

As the final notes reverberated through Johnson State College, it was evident that this night was more than a concert; it was a sonic odyssey, a testament to Phish’s ability to create an immersive musical experience that transcended the ordinary.

Set 1:

  1. Sneakin’ Sally Through the Alley
  2. Possum
  3. Golgi Apparatus > Slave to the Traffic Light -> Quinn the Eskimo (The Mighty Quinn)
  4. Alumni Blues > Letter to Jimmy Page > Alumni Blues
  5. Suzy Greenberg (First known version; Dude of Life on vocals)
  6. Sanity (Dude of Life on vocals)
  7. Good Times Bad Times

Set 2:
8. Wilson

  1. Melt the Guns -> Dave’s Energy Guide
  2. Fluffhead (Dude of Life on vocals)
  3. Harry Hood (Dude of Life on vocals)

Author: schill